Tags

, ,

One of my favorite trends sprinkled in the Spring 2012 RTW fashion shows is the bare midriff. Honestly, I’m a bit surprised at how much I like it. I was in high school at the height of Britney, so the exposed midriff got pretty played out.

I think what brought me around to the bare midriffs of Spring 2012 was the way they were styled. Instead of pairing the midriff tops with low-waisted bottoms, exposing the maximum amount of stomach possible, this year’s look is much more demure and subtley sexy, showing either a sliver of skin or just a section of the ribcage. It feels like a much more wearable option.

spring 2012 trends, bare midriff

Dolce & Gabbana

spring 2012 trends, bare midriff

spring 2012 trends, bare midriff

spring 2012 trends, bare midriff

Emilio Pucci

spring 2012 trends, bare midriff

spring 2012 trends, bare midriff

Nanette Lepore

spring 2012 trends, bare midriff

spring 2012 trends, bare midriff

Rebecca Minkoff

Though I don’t know if I’ll be sporting the look anytime soon, simply because I’m just not that brave yet, I love the way it looks and the summer vibe it brings.

What do you think of the midriff? Love it or hate it?

all images via style.com

