Tags

, , , ,

Liz from Cotton & Curls is the queen of the refashion. A few minutes on her blog and you’ll see the thrift store in a whole new light. The girl’s got skills! Add to that her killer style, her fun personality and her adorable sidekick and it’s no wonder I’m addicted. Read on for her take on style in Utah:

How would you describe your style?
Wow, not sure if I could even describe it. I LOVE and appreciate all styles, whether it’s a little punk, prep, rock, grungy, girly or whatever. It totally depends on my mood and what inspiration I’m feeling. Every year in college I changed my style unintentionally. Freshman year was preppy sporting Tommy Hilfiger. Sophomore year was punk with spike belts (not kidding). Junior year I snapped out of it and went more mature and sophisticated and senior year I went super girly and trendy. I’m all over the place and still am today! But I will say my current style is flowy, vintage and colorful.

How would you describe Utah’s style?
From what I’ve seen from going to BYU, there is a big mixture of everything. There isn’t any one style and maybe that’s due to tons of people coming from around the country. If we’re talking about Utahans outside of the Y (BYU), there are a couple different styles. There are the people that dress purely for modesty and there are people that dress creatively while being modest. But I’m not a great judge because I’ve only lived in the small town of Provo.

How do you think Utah’s style has evolved over your lifetime and what do you think encouraged that evolution?
I think modest clothing is becoming more unique and trendy and the people wearing it are trying to be more experimental with the modesty limits. 

Modesty and frugality have been attributed to Utah’s “lack of style.” How do you think those things affect style in Utah?
When I was surrounded by students, frugality and modesty were the norm for fashion because we were all poor and stressed. But with the little money they had some of those people worked it. I will say, though, that I feel the more unique clothing stores and boutiques have been overshadowed by the cheaper places like Forever 21, making the opportunity to bring out different styles in Provo not as possible. But maybe that is getting better.

What’s your best piece of style advice?
Be creative and don’t follow rules. Stretch your limits a bit and don’t be afraid to try new things. Sometimes I will put something on and think, “Really? I’m going to wear this?” But I do and I end up loving it!

