Tags

, , , ,

I recently found this video of my brother’s band that I had never seen before.

*warning: explicit language*

Watching this video just filled me with pride. It’s a short video, chronicling some of his life this past year recording and touring. He’s seen and done so many things that so few people get to. Experiences many would kill for, and others many wouldn’t want. I remember the first time I saw him play guitar live at the little bike shop during Peach Days. He was concentrating so hard he barely moved. To see him now, playing flawlessly while spinning, jumping, headbanging and, well, flailing, is just amazing to me. What’s sick is it came so naturally to him. As if it was born in him, just waiting to be tapped.

I admit, when I lived at home with him and all I heard all day long was the barely muffled sound of an electric guitar coming up from the basement making basic conversation impossible, I was less than impressed. But absence makes the heart grow fonder. Now I miss being able to go over to my mom’s house and know that Brad will be downstairs, waiting for me to ask if he wanted a spicy chicken sandwich or a junior bacon cheeseburger (we didn’t always have a very good diet). It’s amazing how you take your family for granted. Not that we always got along growing up. I was a very sulky, easily-annoyed teenager and he was just always in my face, trying to get a rise out of me! There were plenty of fights. But he could also be on of the most grateful, kind, uplifting guys. I think growing up with five sisters did him some good, he’s very intuitive and understands a lot about how girls think. No small feat, to be sure.

I’ve known Nick since he was about 10 or 11, too. Always such a sweet, soft-spoken guy, if you can believe it. Brad and Nick have been through a lot together, not to mention several bands. On the one hand it feels like it’s all happened to quickly. But the truth is, they’ve been at this for many, many years. Honing their craft and developing their sound. And watching the transition has been nothing short of amazing. Not many people are lucky enough to have such an inspirational person for a sibling. But Brad Lloyd really is my inspiration to find my passion, follow my dreams and never give up. He’s worked so hard for this and deserves all the success in the world.

And now, in true Lloyd fashion, here’s a clip that had me snorting with laughter at work. This is a very accurate representation of my brother. Driven, serious, determined and a total goofball just looking to make people laugh.

Can you believe his bandmates are sleeping through that? They must have hated him!

