Tags

, ,

While visiting my husband’s family this weekend my mother-in-law offered several off-shoots of her perennials to add to our new flower beds. Seeing as our flower beds looked more like death mounds, we were happy to take the three buckets full of flowers. On our way home, we even stopped by Lowe’s and picked up some annuals to get some color.

Sunday was supposed to be rainy, but we were afraid the transplanted flowers wouldn’t last long in the buckets. We sucked it up and started planting in the rain.

It probably took us close to two hours to get everything laid out and in to the ground, but the results turned out very nicely, if I do say so myself.

And I was thrilled to see that at least one of the many irises I moved from the side of the house to the front actually managed to bloom this year. What a trooper!

The funny part of the day was when, not ten minutes after we finished cleaning up and went inside, the skies cleared and the sun came out. What’s that old saying about the weather in Utah again…?

