Tags

, , , , ,

Today was gorgeous. A lovely 50-degree, blue-skied, early-spring kind of day. I only wish I could have spent more of it outside. It got me thinking about all of the things I’m looking forward to with warm weather just around the corner. Though it tends to snow in April (often), I’ve found some things to keep my mind looking forward.

The Gateway Mall

directoryofsaltlakecity.com

I just love walking around the Gateway mall on a warm summer night. It’s all lit up, there’s often some sort of performance going and there’s just a real feel of community. Z’Tejas also offers half-price apps from 3:30pm to 6:30pm and patio seating. Try the fish tacos. Ah-mazing!

Farmers Markets

downtownslc.org

Though most don’t start up until June, I look forward to them starting about mid January. They’re loud, crowded, hot and loaded with beautiful produce. Probably not an experience for everyone, but if you’re not in a hurry and enjoy people watching, it can’t be missed. And while you’re at it, hit up Bruges Waffles. I’ve heard it’s delicious (and crowded) and it’s has been on my bucket list for a while, so I think I’m going to cross it off one morning before the market. The biggest one is the Downtown Farmers Market, covering most of Pioneer Park, but there are several markets throughout the valley. One in almost every city, I believe.

Patio Dining

It’s my belief that not only does food taste better when eaten al fresco, the calories consumed while eating outdoors don’t count. That’s just good science. And luckily, when it comes to downtown SLC, patio dining seems to be the rule and not the exception. From a couple of tables and chairs on the sidewalk to a back alley or a roof top, most respectable eateries downtown offer some sort of patio dining.

Fresco (utahstories.com)

Ruth's Diner (saltlakecity.cityvoter.com)

Eva's (thevintagemixer.com)

I’m telling you, food really does taste better when mixed with fresh air.

So, that’s a few things I’m looking forward to in the coming warmer months. And really, that’s just the short list. Because, let’s face it, everything is more fun when it’s warm outside.

What are your favorite Utah summer activities? I’m new to the valley, so what should I make sure to check out?

