Tags

, , , ,

I was clearing out my camera the other day when I found some forgotten photos of places I’ve been the last couple weeks. So I thought I should share.

*                    *                    *

I spent some quiet time at the Murray City park and really enjoyed myself. Great trees, tons of shade, beautiful landscapes. It was pretty great, and it’s so close to my place.

*                    *                    *

Last week my sister and I visited the Utah Museum of Fine Arts at the U. Best part of this is all students from a Utah university get in FREE! They have a really wonderful permanent collection and get some impressive traveling collections, too. However, there was one small exhibit that I was rather unimpressed with.

The piece was supposed to be “pushing the limits” between everyday objects and art. Personally, it reminded me of the emperor’s clothes. Everyone’s mystified by the audacity of the person calling this art that they are too afraid to say anything for fear of being ridiculed and  called uncultured or shallow. But, guys, come on! This is just the work of someone uninspired and possibly untalented desperate to be called an artist so they throw some junk (literally) together, call it art then dare everyone to tell them otherwise.

Terribly disappointed.

But I still love UMFA and can’t wait to see what collection they get next.

