Tags

, , ,

Where does South Salt Lake end and Millcreek begin? Anyone? Anyone?

Anyway, recently I discovered there are a few thrift stores on 3300 South and I’ve been dying to check them out. So today I took my sister with me to see what we could find.

The first place we went was Thrift on 33rd.

This was my first time here and I was definitely impressed. They had a great variety, it was all very well organized, the everyone was friendly and the prices were excellent.

Both my sister and I scored at Thrift on 33rd. She found a cool vase for $1. I found a belt, necklace and three little silver bowls for $10. SCORE!

The second place we went was Consignment Circuit.

This is definitely a good place for real vintage and unique pieces of clothing. Lots and lots of interesting clothes, jackets, shoes, boots, costumes, jewelry and decor.

However, the prices here are a bit higher than other thrift stores. Since most of the reason I like thrifting is because I’m broke, this store doesn’t really work for me. But I could definitely see myself going back when I’ve got a little extra spending cash and want something unique and one-of-a-kind.

Finally, we went to the trusty Thrift Town.

Thrift Town has great selection. “4000 items put out daily.” It’s well organized and clean and has friendly staff. They also feature different sales every week. The only problem with Thrift Town is it’s a bit hit-or-miss. Today was a miss. But I’ve found stuff there before so I’ll be back.

Now, all this thrifting makes a girl hungry. So we decided on sushi for dinner. The perfect end to shopping.

We went to Red Ginger where they have half-price sushi ALL THE TIME! I was a little nervous about the quality of cheap sushi but let me assure you, it was amazing.  The servers were very friendly and let me say again, the food was great. We got spring rolls to start and they were delicious. Fresh, not greasy at all and the dipping sauce was the perfect addition. As for sushi, we ordered the Tiffany, Tempura Veg and Executive rolls. They were also delicious. Each one had amazing sauces and interesting flavor combinations. I will definitely be back. Like, tomorrow!

It was a great day. And now I can’t wait to check out the thrifting opportunities in other parts of the valley. Do you have any favorites? Any secret treasures you’re willing to share?

